LEPRECHAUN 3: LEPRECHAUN IN LAS VEGAS (1995).

Posted: March 16, 2012 in Crap, Horror, Leprechauns, Movies (L), Warwick Davis

Wrong movie.

 

"Always bet on green."

Leprechaun 3: Leprechaun In Las Vegas (1995).

I refuse to do any research for this article, so this entry will have to suffer for it.

I hardly remember Leprechaun 3.

I remember the basic plot, that an aspiring magician finds one of the Leprechaun’s gold coins in the desert, drives to Vegas and bets with it, wins big and embarks on a Vegas career… until the Leprechaun shows up.

I remember that, somewhat predictably, someone eventually gets sawed in half.

I remember that a guy tries to bang a lady who turns out to be a robot who turns out to explode.

At least I think I remember that part.

I remember that the protagonist guy for some reason begins morphing into a rival Leprechaun.  [Introducing yet another weakness of evil Leprechauns:  other Leprechauns.  Also potatoes.  Inexplicable, but there you go.]

What I don’t remember is this installment of the series being among the more entertaining (that adjective ALWAYS being relative when it comes to the Leprechaun films).  In fact, to me this is where the franchise took a massive nosedive, and that’s considering that it didn’t start out as a hallmark of quality.  I like to think that the producers sent the Leprechaun to Las Vegas as a prankish response to the success of the deathly serious Leaving Las Vegas that same calendar year, but the movie that resulted suggests that no such wit was involved.

In my opinion, it definitely sucked, and not in any of the good senses of the term.  Speaking of which, this is also the year I started to seriously take a real interest in girls, so from here on, the Leprechaun films became less of a hobby and more of a habit, even a duty.

I watched these movies so that you don’t have to.  That is why I am a hero.

Next up: Leprechaun 4: In Space (1997).

@jonnyabomb

Leave a Reply

