Thoughts On GHOSTBUSTERS 3.

Posted: October 9, 2010 in Movies, Movies (G)

Talk over Ghostbusters 3 is circulating again.  Here was my take on it, for Mapcidy:

Dan Aykroyd has given an interview to Vanity Fair in which he claims to be taking over the writing duties on the long-proposed Ghostbusters 3, with Harold Ramis.  Aykroyd & Ramis would be rewriting the current script by the two writers from The Office, Lee Eisenberg and Gene Stupnitsky, who previously wrote Ramis’ Year One, which I liked but not remotely as much as I wanted to.

Is Ghostbusters 3 really happening?  There’s no official word.  This is something that’s been talked about for a few years now, but nothing has come of it but a script and a flood of speculative internet articles like this one.  Clearly there’s no sign of an end to the strip-mining of entertainment properties from years past, and the original Ghostbusters remains one of the highest-grossing films of all time.  If they could make a Garfield movie, they sure as hell could make a new Ghostbusters movie.

Harold Ramis is one of the most brilliant comedy minds who ever lived (no debate permitted), and he shouldn’t have to revisit past successes, but Hollywood being a business I’m sure he wouldn’t mind a probable hit like this.  I’m assuming Ernie Hudson is down.   Bill Murray famously doesn’t want to do it.  Dan Aykroyd famously really, really does.  If it ever comes to pass, you can’t accuse Bill Murray of not being a good friend.  But I kinda hope it doesn’t come to that.

As one of the greatest fans on earth of the original film, I’d be perfectly fine with leaving the original film where it is, and not seeing any kind of update or “torch-passing”.  Personally, I don’t do nostalgia, not that way at least.  If I’m in the mood for Ghostbusters, I’ll watch Ghostbusters.  But as the guy who came up with the idea in the first place, Dan Aykroyd certainly deserves the chance to make every effort to make a new one.  I’ll obviously see it, if it ever happens.  They’ve got my fifteen bucks already in the pocket.  I just don’t share Dan Aykroyd’s deep belief in the necessity of a third Ghostbusters movie.  I don’t need to see new young Ghostbusters.  I love the old quartet too damn much.

So will it happen?  Only time (and Dan Aykroyd) will tell.

Leave a Reply

