TRAILER: The Governator.

Posted: April 4, 2011 in Awfulness

_______________________________________________

This is the trailer for the new animated TV series, starring Arnold Schwarzenegger, the onetime California governor and star of The Terminator.  This is not meant to be a joke.  In fact, this is meant to be only the beginning.  Arnold plans to turn this cartoon into a comic book and a live-action movie.  (In 3D, naturally.)  Somehow, Stan Lee, one of my childhood heroes, got roped into this enterprise.  Less surprisingly, Larry King, the onetime talk-show host and now stand-up comedian, provides a prominent vocal cameo.  This trailer is a menagerie of wrong things.  It brings together some of the most enduring mistakes of American popular culture:  1990s comic books, Arnold’s voice, kid sidekicks, politics, outdated pop-culture references, bodybuilding, and the Black-Eyed Peas.

I’m sincerely flabbergasted.

This seemed like an unfortunate idea when it was announced last week, but having watched this now, it’s very literally one of the most awful things I’ve ever seen.  And as we discussed here, here, and here, I’ve seen very many awful things in my time.  I just watched it with my own two eyes not five minutes ago, and I still can’t believe this is real.  But it is.

I may add more thoughts later on, but for now I’m honestly stunned into wordlessness.  Congratulations, Arnold:  You did it!

Leave a Reply

