Trailer: DJANGO UNCHAINED (2012).

Posted: June 11, 2012 in Action., Guns, Megaviolence, Movies (D), Trailers., Violence, Westerns

DJANGOOOOOOO!

Look, I know you’ve seen this trailer twenty times on twenty different sites already. I’m not trying to be a Jonny-come-lately. (Depending on who you ask, I don’t have to try too hard to be that.) I just wanted to have a place on my own site, where I could watch it twenty times with that much more ease.

A lot of friends have asked me what I think of this Django Unchained thing so far, knowing what an insane aficionado of “spaghetti” Westerns I am. And sure, I could quibble. You really want me to quibble? Okay. Well, I initially took mock-umbrage at the fact, despite obviously recognizing that it’s meant as an in-joke, that Franco Nero is the one to whom Jamie Foxx instructs, “The D is silent.” Franco Nero knows, motherfucker! That’s the man himself.

But poring over details half a year before the movie opens is not at all my style, and besides, I wouldn’t want anyone getting the impression there’s any other movie I’m more interested in seeing this year. Even when I’m not 100% in sync with Quentin Tarantino’s stuff (which I wasn’t, not 100%, with the Kill Bills or Inglourious Basterds), I adore the way the guy shakes things up, and it’s thoroughly apparent that we have pretty damn similar taste in movies. For example, Quentin has called The Good The Bad & The Ugly “the best-directed movie ever made.” It’s my favorite movie so I suppose I agree. Also, the rise to fame of celebrity fans like QT is largely what has created the current abundance and availability of restored cult films and “spaghetti” Westerns on home video, which is to be appreciated. I wouldn’t have half my DVD collection if it weren’t for guys like Quentin, and the attention he’s brought to forgotten films and stars and directors. Then there’s what he’s contributed to the repertory circuit. That, in addition to the movies he’s made, is a major legacy. Quentin Tarantino is a friend to “spaghetti” Westerns, so he’s a friend to me.

So to see Quentin’s own take on that genre? Yeah, you could surely say I’m curious.

Talk to me on Twitter: @jonnyabomb

Comments
  1. Steph says:

    Im with you on this. I love spagetti western’s and Sergio Leone was the master. Agree that GBU one of if not the greatest. Can’t wait to see this.

Leave a Reply

