Song Of The Day: ANGEL HAZE, “New York.”

Posted: July 18, 2012 in Hip-Hop, Music, New York

Angel Haze is super-young, but as a statement of intent at the start of a new rap career, you could do plenty worse than this track, “New York,” off her new album Reservation.  You can draw your own comparisons to other rappers if you want — I hear a tiny, tiny bit of M.I.A. in there, but she likens herself to Nas and Lil’ Kim on this song, and if you poke around the internet a little you’ll see more than a few critics going so far as to name-check the Notorious B.I.G.  (They’re talking about the style and the talent, not the voice, obviously.)  Seems likely she’s got her own unique stories to bring to hip-hop though — read this intriguing profile by The Fader for some background.

Personally, I like the confidence.  I like that she’s barely 21, she’s from Virginia, and she’s coming out rapping “I run New York.”  I don’t care if you’re Jay-Z or if you’re me, when you say “I run New York,” you’re mainly running motivational incantations on yourself, and if you’re a musician, you’re offering that same boost to everyone who listens and nods and rhymes along.  It’s a good thing.  The fact that this melody and beat are taken from a Gil Scott-Heron song “New York Is Killing Me” (ironically, a very different sentiment than “I run New York”) only suggests that Angel has cooler taste than most up-and-comers.

“Hot Like Fire” is arguably even catchier and definitely more radio-friendly:

Find out more on Twitter: @NativeRaeen

And I’m there too:  @jonnyabomb

Comments
  1. Jason P. says:

    Thanks for the heads up. Listened to her. While not that into her song, it did make me think about Jurassic 5’s music and I started listening to their stufff again. It’s been awhile.

    • Jon Abrams says:

      Yeah, they’re always good. “Concrete Schoolyard” was featured on Demon’s Resume way back in 2002*.

      * Not true but would have been, if this site existed ten years ago.

Leave a Reply

