Bill Murray Sighting Of The Week: Fighting Crime In Japan.

Posted: February 10, 2013 in Bill Murray, Crime

 

Quick Change

 

Lost In Translation

 

I’ve got a pitch for you:  QUICK CHANGE meets LOST IN TRANSLATION.  Only our movie is nothing like that at all, really.  You’d have to flip the premise of the first, and turn the second inside out.  In QUICK CHANGE, Bill Murray played a depressive bank robber.  In LOST IN TRANSLATION, he played a depressive movie star abroad in Japan.

In real life, Bill Murray was reportedly walking down the street when this happened:

“I saw this man running towards me with a bag in his hand. Then he suddenly stopped when he saw me and asked me if I was Bob Harris, the character I played in LOST IN TRANSLATION.

I told him, ‘Sure, why not?’ Then he started telling me how much he loved me.”

The man in question had just robbed the Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi, which is the largest bank in Japan.  The distraction provided by Bill Murray’s presence reportedly proved to be enough for police to apprehend the bank robber.

This may sound improbable to you, but do not underestimate the power of the presence of Bill Murray.

I have only been in the presence of Bill Murray once (that I know of), and it was on a press junket.  Given the opportunity to ask Bill Murray a question, I shut down entirely.  It wasn’t that I was nervous.  It was that the decision was an impossible task for me.  How could I narrow down all the questions that I have for Bill Murray to just one?  There is so much that we can ask Bill Murray.  God help you if you make it about GHOSTBUSTERS 3, son, because I won’t.

So while some Bill Murray stories sound like fictionalized rumors that become urban legends, I can absolutely believe that a Japanese bank robber would stop in his tracks at the sight of Bill Murray.  It is a momentous decision, to become so desperate or so bold as to break the laws of society and venture into a bank to forcefully seize money not one’s own, but it is that much more a momentous occasion to encounter Bill Murray in the wild.  One must accept each moment as it comes.

More on this story as it develops.

 

billmurrayelevator

 

@jonnyabomb

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

billmurrayhappiness

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

