Now On @DailyGrindhouse: A TRIBUTE TO ELMORE LEONARD.

Posted: August 20, 2013 in Books, Heroes, Tributes

 

 

One of my very favorite writers ever has passed away.  If you are a person who loves reading as much as I do, you know that, while losing the person is solely the loss of his or her loved ones, losing the author can be devastating to the appreciative longtime reader.  Their voice is in your head.  You carry their influence with you, particularly if you are a reader who also writes.  That’s a loss, even if it’s nothing compared to what the family and friends must be going through.

 

If you’ve never read his stories, I urge you to change that pronto, for your own sake.  When you do, don’t thank me, thank him.  For a full list of everything he ever did, visit Elmore Leonard’s excellent personal website.

 

For my own meager tribute, please click over to Daily Grindhouse to read the few words I could muster.  Seriously, I hope that’s a little bit adequate, because it’s all the blood I could squeeze from the stone.  I’m really down about this.  Below I put together an appropriately sloppy and scrappy photo montage of moments from Elmore Leonard’s career, to match my state of mind.

 

The only two Elmore Leonard film adaptations I’ve written about at any length are 52 PICK-UP and KILLSHOT.  I wrote a little bit about JACKIE BROWN in my Pam Grier overview.

More is sure to come, eventually.

 

@jonnyabomb

 

 

 

image

image

 

 

image

       

 

 

image

 

image

 

Out Of Sight

 

      

 

 

image

 

 

image

 

 

 

 

 

image

 

 

Jackie Brown

 

image

 

image

 

Vanity

 

Leave a Reply

