What I Watched 2.16.11: LAWRENCE OF ARABIA.

Posted: February 18, 2011 in Classics, Movies (L), What I Watched

The first time I saw this movie was on the big screen.  Don’t let anyone tell you I’m an unlucky guy. I saw it a few years ago, at the Cinerama Dome.  Pretty spectacular.

What is there to be said about Lawrence Of Arabia that hasn’t?  That widescreen photography, obviously such an influence on Steven Spielberg and Raiders Of The Lost Ark in particular.  Without question Lawrence Of Arabia has plenty of its own merits.  What struck me on this viewing was the history of it — the fact that white people are still to this day messing around in a corner of the world that still hasn’t changed all that much from the period Lawrence Of Arabia is depicting. Whether it be imperialism or democracy, maybe we should keep it to ourselves.  But what do I know.

Mostly I’m impressed with myself to have sat through a four-hour (!!!) movie.  How did I do that?  There’s a built-in intermission, sure, and all that desert scenery doesn’t exactly scream “bathroom break’ but still, I don’t care how well-regarded a movie is, that’s a long time to sit in the dark.  Worth doing every once in a while, though.

Leave a comment